Vorlesung Romanticism Today: The Singer/Songwriter-Paradigm, 19. und 20. Stunde

Description Vorlesung im SoSe 2016; Donnerstag, 21. Juli 2016
Creator Christoph Reinfandt (author)
Contributor ZDV Universität Tübingen (producer)
Publisher ZDV Universität Tübingen
Creation Date 2016-07-21
Subjects Romanticism Today, Singer-Paradigm, Songwriter-Paradigm, Lecture, Vorlesung, De-Centerings, Ventriloquism, Bob Dylan, Black Spot, Blind Spot, Stevie Wonder, Tracy Chapman, Michael Kiwanuka, Singer-Songwriter/Hip Hop-Crossover, Ed Sheeran, Plan B, Digital Futurism, Björk, James Blake
Rights Rechtshinweise
Abstract This course of lectures will discuss the systematic contours of the specifically modern ‘cultural idiom [...] of being in the world’ (James Chandler) that was established in the period of Romanticism (c. 1770-1832) and has continued to be operative until today. One of the most influential sites of this cultural idiom has been the work of singer/songwriters in the context of rock and pop music from the 1960s onwards. The combination of lyrical expression with musical composition and performance established a paradigmatic core for rock music as the artistically and aesthetically ambitious variety of pop music, so much so, in fact, that the critical engagement with pop music has until recently been biased by what has been called ‘rockism’, i.e. the dismissal of pop music which does not fit this particular framework of evaluation and is thus deemed commercial and ‘inauthentic’. The lectures will try to chart and disentangle this complex field by drawing on examples ranging from the classics (Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell, Randy Newman, Van Morrison, Jackson Browne, John Hiatt...) to more obscure (Bill Fay, anybody?) and recent examples (Björk, P.J. Harvey, Jake Bugg, Ed Sheeran, Sophie Hunger, Ben Drew/Plan B...). They will also address songwriting in various ‘decentered’ group contexts, from John Fogerty’s Creedence Clearwater Revival and Ray Davies’ The Kinks to Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter in the Grateful Dead and on to Mark Oliver Everett’s Eels and Jeff Tweedy’s Wilco.